Christy Bell part of rare quarterback club for women

In the aftermath of the 2013 Legends Cup, Christy Bell has accomplished two milestones in LFL history. Having led the Philadelphia Passion to their third consecutive championship game appearance, she joins Ashley Salerno of the Los Angeles Temptation as only the second LFL quarterback to lead her team to three straight appearances.

Unfortunately, she also holds the dubious distinction of being the first to lose three LFL title games in a row. Despite joining the likes of NFL quarterbacks like Y.A. Tittle and Jim Kelly who have lost three or more in a row, it still takes a special quarterback to be able to lead a team to the title game.

During the 2013 LFL season, she accumulated 392 passing yards with a 59.3 completion percentage. Complemented by 11 touchdowns and four interceptions, the 27 year-old was the ideal field general for the Passion.

Ironically, Bell was not the only female quarterback to lead her team to its third straight title game in 2013. This year alone, three different female quarterbacks appeared in their respective league’s championship game for the third consecutive season.

Joining Bell was Candace Bloomquist from the Western Women’s Canadian Football League’s Saskatoon Valkyries and Alex Black with the Capital Area Lady Gladiators in the Maritime Women’s Football League. All three are part of a rare quarterback club for women.

Since the formation of the Women’s Professional Football League in 1999, the modern era of women’s football in North America was born. With it, there have been four other teams that have managed to make it three title games in a row.

The WPFL can boast the Houston Energy (2000-02) as the first modern day team to win three titles in a row. Following them, were the Dallas Diamonds from 2004-06, led by Karen Seimears at quarterback.

During this time, another league, the Women’s Football Association featured Kim Grodus and the Detroit Demolition win titles from 2003-05. While no team in the current Women’s Football Alliance has won three in a row, the Independent Women’s Football League had the Sacramento Sirens claim titles from 2003-05.

While Bell is the only member of this club to have not won a championship, it does not take away from her skills as an elite football player. Although the burden of losing is one that can overwhelm a player, sometimes overshadowing the greatest accomplishments in their career, it is those moments when a player deserves to be celebrated for their career and not just a particular moment.

In the end, a win or a loss is just a snapshot in time. Although Bell is the first modern day women’s football quarterback to endure three straight championship game losses, it is also part of a bigger picture which portrays Bell as a leader and a tenacious player who never gave up.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s